Safety Information

Facility Location and Hours

6500 State Road 16
La Crosse, WI  54601

Landfill Summer Hours
Mon-Fri: 6:30 AM to 4:30 PM
April through October

Landfill Winter Hours
Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
November through March

Citizens Drop-Off Site Hours
See landfill hours above

Saturday Summer schedule 
1st & 3rd Saturdays of the month
April through October*
9:00 AM — Noon
*Except the 4th of July

Household Hazardous Facility Hours

Mission Statement

To provide environmentally and economically sound solid waste services through:
  • Cooperation with a regional mindset
  • Communication and education that is comprehensive
  • Creativity that will result in long-term value to the stakeholders


About Our Landfill

The La Crosse County facility is a 350 acre complex at 6500 State Road 16, La Crosse, Wisconsin. Here we are much more than garbage being compacted and buried. We strive to find new ways and partnerships to recycle, repurpose, and reuse materials to keep them out of the waste stream. We capture methane from the active areas to fuel a local hospital complex, chip clean wood waste as an energy source for a local power plant, collect asphalt shingles to be ground and delivered to a local asphalt manufacturer for highway construction, collect concrete and used blacktop to be ground up and used for road base, and collect over 30,000 pounds of partially used paints, household cleaners, auto care cleaners and lubricants, pesticides and more from citizens, to be beneficially reused again by someone else in the community. The La Crosse County facility is available for anyone from anywhere to use—the Solid Waste Department is not on the tax levy, and it is a pay-as-you-go system. Read more...




City of La Crosse

City of Onalaska

Reports and Documents


Our reuse room is stocked with usable materials from our household hazardous facility. These items are restocked daily! All items are free to take, however donations are appreciated. Limit 50 items per year. The room is open for use during regular business hours and is located just inside our main office building.

Staff Directory

Main Office785-9572
Scale Office785-7811
Linda BettinSecretary789-4840
Melisa GoergenScale Attendant785-7811
Jackie DavisScale Attendant785-7811
Kim TiberSpecial Waste Technician789-4505
Kirk HackbarthSpecial Waste Technician789-7883
Greg SmithSpecial Waste Technician785-6244
Jadd Stilwell Operations 789-7810
Paul SchwartzOperations Tech789-7862
Danielle MeinersAccounting785-9570
Nick NicholsSustainability Coordinator785-9768
Randy NedreloSpecial Waste789-7857
Henry A. Koch, P.EDirector785-9769

home   |   citizens   |   businesses   |   hhm   |   news   |   calendar  |   frequently asked questions

partnerships  |   reports and documents   |   about our landfill   |   privacy policy   |   contact us

return to La Crosse County home