La Crosse Area Planning Committee

Metropolitan Planning Organization Serving the La Crosse/La Crescent Urbanized Area

Bob Gollnik, Executive Director Erin Duffer, Transportation Planner
La Crosse County Administrative Center
212 6th St N

Room 1600

La Crosse, WI 54601-2300
PH: 608.785.5977 Website: www.lacrossecounty.org/mpo

Minutes of Technical Advisory Committee Meeting, March 13, 2024

Minutes of the meeting of the Technical Advisory Committee held at 2:30 pm on Wednesday, March 13, 2024, in room 1107 of the La Crosse County Administrative Center and by Microsoft Teams.

Members Present/On Call: Voting: Stephanie Sward for Matt Gallager, Charlie Handy, Jarrod Holter, Paula Silha, Kurt Wayne, Joe Langeberg, Erika Shepherd, Loren Schwier, Chris Dahl, Jim Krueger, Lauren Koss. Nonvoting: Francis Schelfhout, WisDOT; Matthew Sorenson, WisDOT.

Members Excused: Andrea Trane, Bill Waller, and Voni Vegar. **Guests and Staff:** Bob Gollnik, Erin Duffer, Chelsey Boldon, and Nikki Kvam.

Bob Gollnik called the meeting at 2:30pm.

... ke eping you mo ving in the Coulee Rep

1) Approval of minutes of the January 10, 2024, Meeting:

Charlie Handy motioned to approve the minutes of the January 10, 2023, meeting; Joe Langeberg seconded. All were in favor.

2) Recommendation to approve amending the 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP): Erin Duffer provided an overview of the items being amended:

- Addition of one (1) State of Wisconsin Rail Safety project to the TIP List (243-24-015), Town of Shelby, Losey Boulevard (BNSF RR Xing 079827S), Geometric Improvements, Design Anticipated in 2024, and Construction Not Currently Scheduled or Obligated.
- Amendment to the TIP Document, Page 26, Table 12, the Public Transit Safety Plan (PTASP) has been updated to include 2024 targets for the La Crosse MTU and the Onalaska Shared Ride (DriftLink).

Francis provided more context to the Wisconsin Rail Safety Project, sharing that it is to get this project on the shelf and ready if funding were to become available.

Stephanie Sward motioned to recommend to the Policy Board to approve amending the 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program; Charlie Handy seconded. All were in favor.

3) Update on STP-Urban Application and Final Allocation:

Bob Gollnik shared that WisDOT notified us that LAPC was allocated more money in STP-U than originally notified of. Instead of \$1,379,646, LAPC was allocated \$2,556,600. Upon meeting with La Crosse County's Joe Langeberg and City of Onalaska's Jarrod Holter, both agreed to funding their remaining eligible two projects each at 70%.

No approval necessary for this item.

4) Update on Miovision Equipment:

Bob Gollnik shared that LAPC purchased the traffic counter product, Miovision and is now available for duespaying member communities to conduct various traffic studies, including bicycle and pedestrian counts. LAPC staff worked with Onalaska to test the traffic counter on County Road SS. Bob showed the members how the elements look on the interface.

5) March 2024 agenda items:

TIP amendment and Mississippi River Trail (MRT) resolution.

6) Other business; adjourn; next meeting to be announced:

Jim Krueger motioned to adjourn at 3:18pm; Ken Harwood seconded. All were in favor.