County Home Sheriff Dept Home Divisions Recruitment Citations Forms FAQs Contact Us


Solicitor Permits are issued under the guidelines of County Ordinance 13.02.
Each person must have their own solicitor permit; we do not issue group permits.
Solicitor permits are valid January 1 through December 31 and must be renewed annually.
It may take up to 48 business working hours before a permit is issued.
Fee for solicitor permits is $15.00.
Applications for permits may be obtained at the Sheriff's Department during normal business hours, Monday through Friday, 8:30a.m. - 5:00p.m.  The application can also be downloaded here >>
  • Each person must fill out a permit application, sign and date it, no one else may complete it for them.
  • We will not accept faxed applications.
  • We can fax the application to the person or it can be downloaded from this site, but it must be returned in person.
Each applicant will have a criminal history check.
  • Record checks may take up to 48 hours.
Applicants must be fingerprinted.
  • Times for fingerprinting are listed here. >>
  • Fingerprints can be done at time of application or after application is approved, but they must be done before they receive their permit.
A Solicitor Permit will be issued after criminal history is checked and application is approved by the Sheriff.
  • All paperwork must be signed, fee paid, fingerprints completed and on file.
Each Village and City within the County has their own laws regarding solicitor's permits.
  • City of La Crosse, Onalaska; Village of Holmen, Bangor and West Salem.
  • Applicants must apply at each village and city for appropriate permits.
County permits are only valid within the townships of the County.
  • Town of Barre, Bangor, Burns, Campbell, Farmington, Greenfield, Hamilton, Holland, Medary, Onalaska, Shelby and Washington.
The solicitor must carry his permit at all times while soliciting.  Fine for not having a solicitor permit is:
  • Adults - $242.00
  • Juveniles - $149.70