La Crosse County Jail

Criminal Justice Management Council

In September of 2000 our County Board authorized the creation of an 18 member Criminal Justice Management Council.  The Council was formed to develop a Correctional Philosophy for La Crosse County and act in an advisory capacity to coordinate direction toward compliance with that Philosophy.  The Council may recommend and set priorities in creation, elimination or modification of facilities, programs, policies, procedures and organizations that reflect the Philosophy.  It is a goal in the jail to focus on community safety, the core principal of the Correctional Philosophy, while maintaining the safety and security of the jail.

 Sheriff Steve Helgeson
 Chief Deputy - Jeff Wolf